Wk 6 – Activity – Yarn Bombing



For this activity, my friend and fellow classmate, Danielle and I decided that we wanted to make yarn octopi! We used this Youtube video to help us get started: 

“Yarn Octopus Doll – How To // DIY” http://youtu.be/_NU03YxRkU8

First, we used a book as a canvas. In doing this, out octopus would be miniature sized and not as big as the ones in the video, especially without the use of bulky yarn. Then, we wrapped the yarn 80 times around the book, tied one end tight with an extra string of yarn, and cut through the loop of the other end. This left us with the tied end of the yarn at the center of two frayed ends. From here, we brought the frayed ends together, to make the head, and used another extra yarn string to separate the ball/head and the loose ends.

After creating the head, we began separating  the loose ends into eight sections to make the tentacles (my favorite part)! Thus, I braided each tentacle and tied each with extra yarn.

After making the tentacles, we were now able to give our octopi some personalities. We both used hairties as scarves (mine is hot pink) and I used a post-it as a face while Danielle used thumbtacks for eyes. 

Doing this activity was surprisingly fun, cute, and therapeutic. Compared to my graffiti writing experience, I thought I had more fun doing this because I made something cute rather than just drawing.

I think that because of society, painting can be seen as masculine whereas yarn can be seen as feminine. I think this due to men usually being painters and women doing fabric work. Although today, I believe that art has redefined these societal roles and these two materials can be interpreted as both genders. For example, from Alanna Marcelletti’s exhibit, she has empowered a craft that has been identified as “feminine.” I think that our culture now has helped redefine these past stereotypes because of the growth and expansion of art. 

Also, pictures from FA2!





Leave a Reply

